Traumatic Grief Treatment

  • 01 Jan 2023
  • General

Usually, we never think or try not to think that death will happen to ourselves or our loved ones. Since living with the thought of death is not sustainable, it is very useful to forget about death. However, it is quite normal to grieve as a result of intense and prolonged pain after the loss of a loved one. However, if intense physical symptoms are experienced and the traumatic grief process begins, this situation is not met normally. Therefore, support must be sought.

What is the Difference Between Grief and Traumatic Grief?

Grief is a healthy and probable situation, and it is considered normal to be seen between 6 months and 1 year, depending on the dynamics of the loss (closeness, suddenness, etc.). There are 5 different phases of grief. These;

  1. Denial and Shock Phase
  2. Anger Stage
  3. Bargaining Phase
  4. Depression Stage
  5. Acceptance Phase

Grief and traumatic grief differ at these points. Traumatic grief is the occurrence or experience of loss in an unexpected and sudden process. It can also be defined as a person's traumatic perception and interpretation of the grieving process for psychological or social reasons.

What is the Transformation Process of Normal Grief to Traumatic Law?

As in all cases, one of the important factors of traumatic grief is the individual's experiences of childhood and the reflection of these experiences on the mental health of the individual. In addition, dependency, reciprocity and sense of responsibility in the relationship between the person and the deceased are among the factors that trigger traumatic grief.

What are the Symptoms of Traumatic Grief?

Traumatic grief symptoms are explained by 2 diagnostic criteria. These are as follows:

A Criteria

Criterion A consists of the death of a loved one and symptoms of separation anxiety. It includes the sudden, unexpected, brutal death of a relative of the person. Death does not need to be objectively traumatic to make a diagnosis.

The person is dealing with the person he lost. These repetitive and disturbing symptoms are sometimes in the form of searching, longing, and longing, but they always end with disappointment. Unlike normal grief, separation anxiety is repetitive and disturbing enough to affect functioning.

B Criteria

Criteria B are law-specific signs of being traumatized by death. These symptoms are as follows:

  • Disconnection
  • Feelings of extreme anger, pain, and restlessness about death
  • Feeling of dullness
  • Don't think the world is falling apart
  • Inability to imagine that life can be meaningful without the deceased
  • Shock
  • Emotional unresponsiveness
  • Sense of meaninglessness about the future
  • Untrue thoughts about harming the deceased
  • Petrifying feeling
  • Difficulty accepting death
  • The feeling that life is meaningless and empty
  • The feeling that a part of me is gone
  • Insecurity, feeling of insecurity

Traumatic Grief Treatment

the treatment of traumatic grief; The choice of treatment is made in accordance with the needs of each individual by evaluating the clinical problems of that individual. As a result of this evaluation, it is determined which therapy approach will be good. At the same time, the dosage of the drug treatment is determined as a result of the evaluations.

treatment of traumatic grief, psychotherapy and medication are often used together. However, in some cases, psychotherapy alone is sufficient. This is a completely personal situation.

How Can You Make the Grief Process Healthy?

It is very important for the grieving process to proceed in a healthy way. What you can do:

  • Be on the lookout for substance and alcohol addictions.
  • Spend time with people you know and feel good with.
  • Do not hesitate to seek psychological support.
  • Pay attention not only to your mental health, but also to important physical health indicators such as appetite and sleep.
  • Reflect on your feelings and talk about the process you are going through.

At the same time, innovations such as moving, starting a romantic relationship or giving birth to a new child can delay and prevent the acceptance of the loss of the individual. For this reason, you should complete your grieving process before making big changes in your life.

Share the post